Crescent School’s Show Us Your Talent

Crescent Show Us Your TalentThere is no doubt that the Crescent School is a little school with big ambitions if the performances in the inaugural Show Us Your Talent contest are anything to go by.

After much persuading Mr Marshall had finally agreed to the pupils’ and Friends of Crescent’s requests for a school talent contest. So last Friday 28 April we gathered expectantly in the school hall and we were not disappointed.

We were amazed and delighted when just before the performances were to start we were asked to welcome special guest judges Simon, Sharon and Louis (aka Mrs Sarkies, Mrs Wells and Mrs Mistry) who had taken time out from judging ITV’s popular Britain’s Got Talent to visit the Crescent School and judge our own budding stars.

There was plenty of “can’t stop the feeling … let’s dance dance dance” and “you can tell everybody … that this is your song” moments as a diverse set of acts took us from dance and gymnastics, through comedy and impressions to music and songs. We were mesmerised by the musicians, amazed by the acrobats, dazzled by the dancers, charmed by the comedians and simply stunned by the singing.

Act after act was greeted with rapturous applause and maximum scores of 10 from the judges.

Congratulations go to all of the pupils who performed and to everybody who had so enthusiastically auditioned, as we were only able to have three acts from each class.

Our special thanks go to the Friends of Crescent for helping to organise the show and to Ms Forth and Mrs Corbin who compered and to Mrs Sarkies, Mrs Wells and Mrs Mistry who played Simon, Sharon and Louis.

Ms Forth was so in awe of the talent on show that, at the end of the afternoon, she declared “You can all have Monday off school – after all it is a Bank Holiday!”

The cast of performers included: James Latham, Stephanie Bolton, Gabriel White, Issy Thompson, Jessica Sarkies, Phoebe Causer, Samuel Lau, Joshua Olner, Ben Angell, Lily Emery, Bryson Taylor-Jackson, Alyssa Barrnett, Amy Robinson, Archie Dowling, Ella Knight, Eva Evans, Zahara Anwar, Dorrit Davies, Eva Thompson, Lucy Hardy, Marco Hernandez, Evie Bierton, Idan Dar, Monty Hinde, Ed Thomas, Alex Ashton, Nirmay Patel, Joshua Stevens, Robyn Shaw and Vignesh Sadisivan.